Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
393 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Been giving the wing her usual strip down and maintenance checks, to make sure that she's in good shape for the summer, and I'm stunned to find that the exhausts (mufflers) are rotted through again, I only replaced them with genuine OEM items two years ago !!. I've been checking out Dave Silver spares, who do a set of pattern Stainless mufflers for £220. I've never used stainless before, has anyone had any experience with them ?. I remember a friend fitted a stainless set to his 1200 and as soon as a little heat built up, they turned a pasty straw colour, which ruined the look of the bike. If anyone has fitted stainless mufflers to their 1500, I'd be keen to hear their experience.

·
The Irish Crew
3,932 Posts
imported post

All the stainless muffs I've seen fitted to Wings go yellow after a while, but the upside s that it is easily polished out when cleaning the bike. That's just the way it is with stainless. On the 1500 it takes a while for them to yellow, probably because the mufflers don't run as hot on that model (bigger collector box might have something to do with that).

·
Premium Member
3,776 Posts
imported post

Sorry , have no experience with stainless exhausts on Goldwings. But to anyone with factory exhaust on their 4-cylinder Wings, I suggest that you make certain to keep the small drain hole open in the bottom of the can. On my last two 1200's I even went so far as to drill two additional 3/16" holes in the end caps. Only a very slight increase in exhaust volume levels, but more importantly; no rust either.

This is benificial for short haul, or wet weather riding where exhaust doesn't get a chance to dry itself out. Current job is 25 miles away, so the bike is well warmed before being parked.

Haven't noticed any undue lean running conditions, and still changing out spark-plugs every couple years or 12,000miles.