Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

My wife of 6 months and I were trying to plan a two week tour of national parks starting in PA and ending in CA this summer - but were dismayed to find the cost of renting a car one way - $1600. My brain started churning and I looked on eBay and found a listing for a GL1100 for $2500. I talked the guy down to $2320 - and after driving down to DE to inspect I wrote a check.

I owned a little 620cc Ducati for a couple of years, and by profession I'm an engin-nerd so I'm pretty tech capable. The bike has 64k miles on it, new tires, new hoses, and surprising little rust even on the exhaust. The engine sounded healthy, didn't smoke, only known problems is the speedo drifts around under acceleration and there is a glitch in the carbueration right off idle, but disappears as RPMS rise. The seller has recently replaced all fluids.

What should I be doing to make this bike worthy of a two week trip? What can I do to smooth out the off-idle glitch? Carbs. cleaned or new timing belt? What else should I be looking out for?

I'm intimidated by the air pump suspensionn technology. Does that really work? How does one keep that up to prevent leaks and such?

This is a long post :action:, thank you for reading and quelling my excitement and concerns...

Ryan Nice

·
The Irish Crew
3,932 Posts
imported post

Welcome to the forum Ryan. Carbs usually need balancing every 5k miles, that should get rid of the hesitation. If the air suspension is holding the air then just ride the bike and don't worry about it.

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post

Welcome to the best Goldwing board in the known world Ryan!