Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
359 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

My son has a '95 Mirage, 1.5L. I know, it's kind of a girly car, but at least he chose that one over the pink Miata.

About 6 weeks ago I replaced the distributor, it was putting no spark to the plugs at all. It ran fine for about a month, then just suddenly started cutting out, but only while accelerating. It would idle just fine, and ran smoothly at a steady speed, but would chug and sputter while trying to get up tospeed.

I had the timing checked and it was right on. I figured probably the Throttle Position Sensor, but changed that with no improvement.

I'm a fairly good shade-tree mechanic, but don't know where tocheck next.

Any and all ideas or advice gratefully accepted.

·
Premium Member
1,514 Posts
imported post

I had a problem like that in my astro van while back. come to find out my catilyc converter was almost plugged solid, my sons dodge ram 1500 was the O2 senser in the exhaust.

·
Premium Member
4,472 Posts
imported post

Fuel filter maybe?

·
Premium Member
359 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

I never really thought it was the fuel filter because of how quickly the problem came on and how consistent it is, but I'll try that this evening anyway.

There seems to be plenty of exhaust coming from the tailpipe, so I don't believe there's any obstruction in the exhaust pipes or catylitic converter. The "Check Engine" light isn't on so I wasn't thinking O2 sensor. Is there a way to check the O2 sensor anyway?

·
dlg14
178 Posts
imported post

Sounds like an ignition coil. You would think they would just crap out but they don't. Does it do it all the time or just when it warms up? Thats my 2 cents.

·
Premium Member
7,190 Posts
imported post

Was it a used distributor? Over here they are very unreliable and it's really hard to get a used distributor that will work for more than a few minutes.

·
Senior Mem & Story Teller