Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
420 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Okay so I'm wondering how hard would it be to just completely hardwire my bike, so many gremlins left behind by PO just wondering how hard it would be. I'm an Electrical technician by trade so the ins and outs of electrical doesn't scare me just wondering how hard it would be? Anyone ever done something like this, or anyone have an opinion good or bad.:baffled::stumped:

·
Premium Member
21 Posts
imported post

There are a lot of areas that I highly recommend hard wireing. Any area that is critical to safety, reliability or prone to corrosion. Most of these areas have a high amp draw to begin with and additional resistance of connectors increases the likelyhood of failure. Any place you can remove a connector you do not have to undo on a regular basis is a candidate. It will reduce resistance and reduce amp draw. JMHO

·
Administrator
26,534 Posts
imported post

I agree with Deaddawg, anything you wouldn't have to disconnect regularly could be hard wired if you don't mind having to cut wires and resolder to replace something gone bad.

·
Village Whack Job...
7,908 Posts
imported post

Every winter I plan to do just that. And every winter to many other projects get in the way.

·
Premium Member
1,437 Posts
imported post

I personally would not want to hard wire the complete bike nor would I want to buy a bike completely hard wires. I would rather purchase a bike that is totally original and not rigged. I have done my fair share of rigging and seen many rigged wiring.It just looks wrong and tends to cause confusion. I would only condone or recommend it except as a truly last resort and unless cost really prohibits an economical repair.