Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I just got this 94 SE with 162K miles and noticed it pops out of 4th gear sometimes. I've had this problem on 2 Suzuki cruisers in the past and was able to fix it by increasing the pressure the spring exerts on the arm with the wheel that presses against the "star" gear attached to the shift drum. I see that on the Goldwing this mechanism is at the front of the engine behind the oil filter (rather than on the left side like a V-twin), but it looks to function the same way.
I posted a fix on the M109riders forum, and some members have done this also with good results.
Has anyone tried this. Can that cover be taken off without removing the engine. Sorry, I've only had the bike 2 days so I'm just learning about it. Here's a photo of the area I'm talking about from this forum.

·
Administrator
26,175 Posts
imported post

It would probably help but might make it a little harder to shift but that's better than having to split the case.
You can take the front cover off with the engine in frame.

·
Still Learning
13,270 Posts
imported post

Man cbr1000dude! You better hurry up and get that oil off Momma's good rug before she gets back!

·
Still Learning
13,270 Posts
imported post

And welcome to the forum Dude!

·
Premium Member
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
imported post

William_86 wrote:
does the bike has floorboards and or heel/toe shifter?
I'm assuming you are asking in relation to the popping out of gear problem. As long as you shift it firmly into gear, either style of shifter works equally well. After the shift, the ratchet mechanism plays no part in keeping it in gear.