Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,951 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I know this seems to be a never ending subject but I'd like to hear it from you guys who ride the Wings all the time! I called a local Honda dealership and they said that on a older GoldWing (81 GL1100) I should be using the premium gas without ethenol with an octane of 91-92. But mostly in this forum I see posts of people using the regular 87 octane. Can someone please explain what could happen to the engine by using the premium? As of now I'm using the premium and it does seem to run better but don't want to do any damage. I think I've read posts about "burning valves" or something like that. It's very obvious that I'm not a mechanic guru so I really appreciate a forum like this and all the help from you guys. I'm sure I'll be posting more (dumb???) questions but with help from you I'll keep it running smooth!! Thanks!

·
Premium Member
1,153 Posts
imported post

Using premium won't burn out valves, in fact lower octane and unleaded are more likely to burn valves on engines that aren't set up for it. But as the GL1100 has hardened valves and seats it will cope very well because the engine is set up for it already.

·
Premium Member
1,148 Posts
imported post

Try to obtain an owner's manual or repair manual.. Octane requirements will be listed there. I'm not sure abou the 1100's, but the 1200's will run fine on regular, low octane unleaded fuel.

FYI, I had one customer who complained of severe pinging on regular fuel while riding his 1100 up an incline and he went over to high octane to eliminate the poor performance.. He was running spark plugs that were too hot for the New England area. After installing the recommended spark plugs, he could run regular without a problem...

·
Senior Guru
2,234 Posts
imported post