Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello my fellow riders! I have been rideing motorcycles for many years this is my second Goldwing but my first trike. I have noticed at low speed when I hit a bump I'm getting some fork wobble just wondering what can cause that and what can I do to stop it.. My bike is the GL1800 2005 with 20,000 miles with a CSC trike.. Thanks for any info you may suggest...

·
Premium Member
270 Posts
fork wobble

This is a very widely discussed topic, with many opinions. It's not just the 1800 trikes that experience this, but the straight up bikes as well. My '04 would do it upon deceleration in the 35-40mph range. I've had customers with new bikes (right from day one) that have had it. You must make sure you have a front tire that's not cupping. I've had excellent success changing the steering stem bearings to the tapered roller style instead of the ball bearings that are original. Some call this "The ALL BALLS" upgrade. If your trike does not have an E_Z Steer type fork kit, now would be the time to consider doing that as well, because the complete front end will be disassembled. It is a time consuming job. I normally charge $350-$400 pp to do the complete job, just to give you an idea of cost. Good luck... I'm sure others will chime in soon.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey thanks so much for the information 3rdwheelwinger atleast I know where to start. I'm not sure if the bike has the EZ steer or not how might I tell the difference between the stock & the EZ steer front end. I can tell you this if I lived in Saginaw I would be paying you a visit on this issue. Thanks again for your help and anyone else!!!

·
Premium Member
270 Posts
Fork Wobble