Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1980 GL 1100A
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, this is my first time posting so please bear with me.

OK so, I have an early 1980 GL 1100 - engine number SCO2E - 2000253. I need to find a substitute crankshaft (and rods and pistons).
Looking at the parts list (below) this means I can only substitute with an '80 or 81 crank (pistons and rods run later) and not and '82.

Crankshaft.jpg

I've found a potential donor, engine number SCO2E - 2110979, the '21' referring to 1981, which is a year I can use.
However, looking at my parts list (below) however it advises that:
GL1100 '81 A SC02E- 2100002 To 2133800
GL1100 '82 A SC02E- 2100051 To 2133800

Serial Numbers.jpg

So, does the '82 GL1100 A use an '81 engine and is it compatibe or not???

My head hurts!

Cheers!

Attachments

·
Registered
476 Posts
Instead of changing just the crank would it not be easier to swop a complete engine, as long as you know what year it is should you need parts in the future it would be easier.
I have rebuilt a couple of 1000 and 1200 engines and they are not the easiest to do

·
Registered
269 Posts
The cases have to be matched to the crank. A complicated bearing code process. And good luck on finding bearings.

Sent from my SM-J320V using Tapatalk

·
Average Goldwing Rider
1,088 Posts
The 80-81 bikes were very similar. Honda started making changes with the gearing on the 82-83 engines. I think your serial number info is wrong. The 80 engines were 2000xxx, 81 were 2100xxx, 82 were 2200xxx and 83 2300xxx.

·
Registered
269 Posts
I had to replace a crankshaft in a 1200 because somebody chrome-plated the oil filter Bolt and the bypass didn't work. The aftermarket oil filter was crushed from being clogged. Number codes on the case and crank determines which color bearing goes on that journal.

·
Registered
1980 GL 1100A
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #6