·
Administrator
Piaggio MP3, was 02 GL1800
61,982 Posts
If Penski had not killed my '94SE,
I would have done the same,
I had already drawn up a schematic to do just that

go for it.
I have never liked that vacuum controlled shut off fuel valve.

·
Administrator
61,982 Posts
Briese,

Thanks for the suggestion but I have been starting carbureted engines since the late 1950's. I kinda know how to use a choke. As far as knowing that the carburetors are dry, I don't know that for a fact. What I do know is that I have to crank the engine for way too long before it starts firing. If there was fuel in the carbs then I wouldn't have to crank the engine for a minute or two before the engine would fire.

I have tested the fuel pump and it works within OEM limits but it does not receive power except for about one second after I turn on the ignition switch and then only again only after I hold the starter switch. I just want the carbs to be able to have fuel before I start wearing out my starter.

With the limited comments I have received so far, I'm studying the bikes wiring schematics to see what are my best options for bypassing the engine control module. I do want to include the bank angle sensor for safety reasons.

Bill - N5HQ
I have a couple of notes that might be useful,
look at your PMs
RED DOT above your avatar top right of page, you will need a PC though

·
Administrator
61,982 Posts
You could add an auxiliary momentary (switched) power source to the fuel pump, but put a diode in the normal source so you don't back feed the ECM.
Also ,if it is like the 94SE I rode it seemed to only fire up/start at the moment I let off the starter button.
Would not need a Diode, is you use a Single Pole, double throw switch.
Center terminal goes to the fuel pump.
One side goes to the ECM,
Other side goes to Battery thru a fuse.

I would dump the vacuum valve, and get an electric valve switched thru a relay off the fuel pump + terminal.

·
Administrator
61,982 Posts