Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Administrator
28,209 Posts
I don't see any problem with doing what you suggested, should work and be as safe as the system it has now if not better.

·
Administrator
28,209 Posts
With the limited comments I have received so far, I'm studying the bikes wiring schematics to see what are my best options for bypassing the engine control module. I do want to include the bank angle sensor for safety reasons.

Bill - N5HQ
If you tap into the ignition circuit blk/wht wire and use it to trigger a relay to operate the shut off valve and pump it would shut off in the event of a tip over.

·
Administrator
28,209 Posts
Nope, wouldn't do any good because the vacuum controlled fuel shut off valve would not open unless the engine was cranking. No cranking = no vacuum. No vacuum = no fuel.

I'm pretty sure what I'm going to do now. I'm going to put in a power distribution block and power it from the battery and re-wire everything electrical that I have added over the years. Anything needing to turn off with the ignition switch will get a relay. This way I can have separate fuses for everything instead of piggybacking off the existing wiring. Should have done that years ago. I have the plastic off now and I can see everywhere where I fished wires through and I want to clean all that up. Good winter project.

Thanks everyone for all the suggestions.

Bill - N5HQ
While you are at it install a relay or just use the same relay for the pump and fuel valve and power the blk/wt wire going to the coils. That has been the cure for lots of 1500s with starting problems.

·
Administrator
28,209 Posts