Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My uncle and I just went through and did new head gaskets on my 79' gl1000. Everything went smooth, i thought. After getting her all put back together, we started her up and went smooth for 5 mins or so. But then she started getting warm and she had some fog comin and of coarse I smelt the antifreeze. Hit her down and radiator was hardly warm. I'm fairly new to working on bikes so I rly am unsure of where to go from here. Could it be thermostat or water pump? Heads looked like they were in good working order and didn't seem to look warped. Could bad thermostat cause pressure and blow the coolant out? An I going to need a new gasket?

All I do know is that the side I did myself is working out great and no sign or any leak of any sort!:-X

·
It aint rocket science
3,967 Posts
Others will ask where did the gaskets come from you do not want to stray from OEM here. How were the surfaces cleaned, were they checked for flatness and/or cracks, what torque sequence was used.

5 minutes is not long enough to confirm it was just not residual coolant in pipes burning off without other things going on.

·
Junior Grue
8,153 Posts
Welcome to the forum.:claps:

The likely cause of your sweet smelling fog is coolant in the exhaust from your blown head gasket.
You'll have to get the exhaust good and hot to burn it off.

Edit: Oops I see DriverRider already said that.

·
Premium Member
2,163 Posts
I'm unclear as to whether it just came to operating temperature, or if it overheated.
If it didn't overheat, and the fan cycles correctly, I'll have to agree to the edit of Ken Bergen as it relates to DriverRider.

·
Vintage Rider
2,410 Posts