Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I have a '77wing that my father-in-law gave me for christmas a year ago. It had not sat a lot and had some work done to it but he didn't like the ride so he bought a new VTX1300. When I got it I had a bit of tuning to do but the carbs had been rebuilt already, the timing had ben gone over, new belts, points conversion, and valve lash set, all by a small bike shop close to where he lives. I put new tires on it and freshened up the brake system, new fuel filter and fuel lines. When I started riding it daily it ran really rich and I continued to tune it until I got it balanced good and leaned out a little by little. I finally got it all tuned up and the power increased dramatically. About a month went by and I was riding home from work one day and the power started dropping off. I got home and left it running, took off my helmet to do some diagnosis and promptly heard a gurgling noise. Turned out to be coming from the overflow bottle of course. I opened the cap on the bottle a little to watch it and shut the engine off while watching. The gurgling promptly stopped the moment the engine shut off. After checking it out thoughly the things I noticed are, a small amount of white smoke from the left pipe, antifreeze dripping from the bottom of the left head right at the gasket when the engine isn't running, and the gurgling. There is no oil in the antifreeze and I didn't find any traces of coolant in the oil. This leads me to believe it is a compression leak from one of the left cylinder to the coolant passage. Unfortunately none of the fitting for my compression tester fit the spark plug holes on the engine. My guess is to replace the head gaskets, something I have a little experience with. Is there anything I could be overlooking? My second question is where should I go for head gaskets. I'm looking for the best quality for value. I don't nessesarily want t