Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

:doh:I have a '75 wing that I have been restoring after a long rest (sat for 10 to 15 years). Now that I have worked through the carb and electrical problems, I can get it started, but she smokes terribly from the left exhaust. There is oil dripping from that pipe also (dripping OUTof the pipe, not off of the pipe) I have checked the valves, and they are seating just fine, and have also done compression checks on all cylinders. There is no more than 5 lbs of pressure difference between any of thecylinders, so broken rings are highly unlikely. Anyone have any ideas where the oil may be coming from? The upside is that, with mosquitoes being bad this year, I'm not havin' and problems with them, downside is that it sure runs rough, and the neighbors keep callin the fire department!

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post

btexas wrote:
:doh:I have a '75 wing that I have been restoring after a long rest (sat for 10 to 15 years). Now that I have worked through the carb and electrical problems, I can get it started, but she smokes terribly from the left exhaust. There is oil dripping from that pipe also (dripping OUTof the pipe, not off of the pipe) I have checked the valves, and they are seating just fine, and have also done compression checks on all cylinders. There is no more than 5 lbs of pressure difference between any of thecylinders, so broken rings are highly unlikely. Anyone have any ideas where the oil may be coming from? The upside is that, with mosquitoes being bad this year, I'm not havin' and problems with them, downside is that it sure runs rough, and the neighbors keep callin the fire department!