Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
700 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hi all,

I'm new to Wings, just bought an '83 GL1100 Interstate. My problem is this - when idling there is sometimes a slight rattle or knock, but in the first few minutes, if I give it gas the motor seems to struggle a bit and there is a knocking/clanking sound. The sound almost sounds like the pistons are slapping the heads, but once I'm up to speed the bike seems to run well. It also does it quite a bit if I'm going slightly uphill from a stop in first gear (the bike is under load).

I changed the plugs, thinking it might just be missing, but that's not it. Any ideas? The bike has 20,000 original miles on it, and sat for probably months or even years before I bought it.

Thanks,

Jack

·
Premium Member
20 Posts
imported post

It could be running "lean" due to the fact that the pilot circuit in the carburetor is smewhat clogged. Also, one of the sliders in the carb may be sticking. These conditions often occur when a bike has been sitting for extended periods of time and old gas starts gumming up the works.

Worth checking out.

J M Wolfe

North Royalton, OH
1987 BMW K75
1981 Honda GL1100
1973 Yamaha CT3

·
Premium Member
111 Posts
imported post

I have the same problem with my bike. As soon as it warms up, the sound is gone. Thecarbs were rebuilt a year ago, I've change oil, change plugs.
I'm marking the problem off to a old bike. I get a small cloud of smoke in the morning after the bike has sat for over 12 hours. I'm sure it's a valve, piston ring leak which I have no plans to repair unless the bike gets that bad. (which it runs great) Luckily for me, I'm in Florida and it doesn't get that cold and I ride all year long.

This bike doesn't have the "spurt" of power I like when riding, but I also keep in mind that's it's 24 years old. Which could mean the problems I mention before.

·
Premium Member
700 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post