Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have a 1981 gl1100 and im trying to find a set of super coils (ignition) to fit my bike. I removed the pipes and once the bike is started i get warm air out of the front two ports but only cold air out of the back two. i think its the coils but not sure... anyone have any helpful info it would be greatly appreciated im new to the whole gold wing thing but i have one with decent mileage and pretty good condition....starts right up and runs just rebuilt master brake cylinder for front brakes.

·
Premium Member
593 Posts
i have a 1981 gl1100 and im trying to find a set of super coils (ignition) to fit my bike. I removed the pipes and once the bike is started i get warm air out of the front two ports but only cold air out of the back two. i think its the coils but not sure... anyone have any helpful info it would be greatly appreciated im new to the whole gold wing thing but i have one with decent mileage and pretty good condition....starts right up and runs just rebuilt master brake cylinder for front brakes.
Welcome to the forum, use the search option, I believe they were using coils from dodge neons for 1100's but don't quote me on that, some experts will be along shortly.

·
Premium Member
2,163 Posts
The 1100 uses "spark units" to fire the coils on an input from the pulse generators.
Since it affects the rear cylinders, it will be one of those three. Coils, spark units, or pg.
Spark units are notorious for getting hot and failing.

·
Banned
12,287 Posts
Pick a spot and start eliminating things.
IF ...you think it's the coils, then maybe start at the end of the chain for the secondary side of things.
Start with each sparkplug and work backwards.
Is the plug good? Is it clean and gapped? Find one of the MANY color charts and read them.