Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

It looks like the Starter on my 82 GL1100 has given up the ghost. The battery is charged and the relay is clicking but no starter movement. The book says I have to remove the engine to get the starter out but there has to be an easier way. Any suggestions? Could it be something else? I'm a former Auto mechanic in the USAF but I'm still learning about Bikes!

·
Senior Guru
3,589 Posts
imported post

You won't need to remove the engine, but do put the biike on the side stand just before you pull the starter out. This precaution prevents the starter sprocket from rolling inside the engine.

Mr. Magic Fingers guide to refurbishing a GL1100 starter motor is what you need.

http://www.goldwingfacts.com/forums/forum9/73447.html

There are countless forum posts too, but that guide covers it all.

·
Premium Member
1,522 Posts
imported post

Just remove the two bolts and yank it out... Little harder to put back in as you have to line up the gear. and be careful when you tighten the wire post.. you can break the post real easy

·
Junior Grue
8,153 Posts
imported post

I hope you tested to verify that it's indeed the starter that's bad.

Just because the solenoid clicks doesn't mean it's actually delivering power to the starter.

·
Premium Member
81 Posts
imported post