Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Premium Member
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

This weekend I'm going to attempt to build a reciever hitch for my 85 GL1200. There's a hitch for sale at wingstuff, but I plan on hardly ever using the hitch, so I want a reciever type, so that I can remove it. (somewhat like the 1500-1800 options out there right now). There seems to be nothing out currently for sale, so I'm going to build one myself. there was a guy selling them on Ebay in 06, but he only made 10 and they're long gone. Yes, I've been welding and building stuff for 20 years now, and I'm a part-time fabricator; don't worry, it will be stout.

I'd love to see some pictures of old designs for receiver hitches on 1200's. I acutally saw one on a 1200 a month ago in a pizza parking lot, but I didn't have time to stop and check it out.

Oh, and one more thing...if you're interested...I'm also building a single rail trailer for it so I can tow my supermoto bike to regional races. ye-ha. a motorcycle towing a motorcycle. kind of like the trailerinabag.com idea. I know I'm not the first one to think of the idea, but I've wanted to do it ever since I picked up this bike. there's a new supermoto track in Seattle that's about 3hrs. away, so I want to ride the GW up spin the track for an afternoon, and ride back. It will probably make more sense financially when gas goes back to $5/g. but for now it will be just fun.

cheers!

·
Administrator
1987 GL1200 Interstate
23,268 Posts
imported post

Hey Dude!

Is your washer fix still working?

I was just up there. I spent a night in Portland to change my oil. (at the worst motel on the planet)

·
Premium Member
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
imported post

Tricky,
Not only is that link helpful, it's exactly what I need.