Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to the site and new to riding.

I just bought my first motorcycle, an 84 GL1200. That's all the tittle says so I am unsure what model exactly(also says 1200 on the engine and goldwing on the tank). It has 30k on it and I only paid $1200 for it. I'm the 3rd owner. The problem I have is, the first owner stripped her down, as you can see in my profile photo. Without all the weight of the trunk,boxes, cowl and so on, it sits about 3" too high! I have to put a brick under the kickstand so it won't fall over. I have no desire to put the bulky stuff back on as I'm new to riding. I'm 32yrs old 6'1" and 275#s and I have no issue riding the bike, but carrying a brick everywhere is no good. So my question is, is there a way to lower the rear or release some pressure in the rear shocks to drop it down, without total replacement?
NewkRider
Couple YouTube videos of the 2nd owner dropping off for me.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2tPssnrpg2Q&feature=youtube_gdata_player

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4TwB7G0a8Q0&feature=youtube_gdata_player

·
Junior Grue
8,153 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

What you have appears to be an 84 Standard which didn't have a fairing or luggage and it appears to be sitting at the correct height.
Check that the side stand hasn't been shortened or that the pivot bolt isn't broken.

I'm I seeing correctly that it has no front brakes?:?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Welcome to the forum.

What you have appears to be an 84 Standard which didn't have a fairing or luggage and it appears to be sitting at the correct height.
Check that the side stand hasn't been shortened or that the pivot bolt isn't broken.

I'm I seeing correctly that it has no front brakes?:?