Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Premium Member
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hello all, I am new to the forum, I have a 84 Goldwing, while driving down the road I noticed it got hard to shift into gear and my oil light came on? Any help as to where I should start looking would be great.

Billy

·
Down
279 Posts
imported post

Check your oil level if its low add more your 1200 trans and engine share the same oil so if your engine oil is low your light will come on and it also means your trans is low on oil also

·
Premium Member
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

yup first thing I checked, is full of oil, proper weight, was running great my first cruz on it, I just bought it. driving on the road, was hard to shift into 3rd, then light came on. I shut it down, and trailer-ed it home. I am a mechanic but not on motorcycles, I do have a venture I have worked on, but this is the first goldwing I have owned.

·
Down
279 Posts
imported post

Ok my 85 1200 aspencade can be difficult to shift sometimes when it gets warmed up and from what ive read the 1200's can be from time to time but they are good transmissions did you try starting it up again to see if the light stays on?

·
Down
279 Posts
imported post

Well before i go and say your oil pump is shot i wonder if the oil light sensor may be faultyand/or did you change the oil and filter or has it been changed recently?

·
Registered
1,468 Posts
imported post

Do the 1200's have a screen like the 1000's you can remove and clean?

·
Premium Member
231 Posts
imported post

As a reference, I have an 84 aspencade, it clunks from neutral to 1st and 1st to 2nd. This is supposed to be normal. 3rd through fifth sre smooth. My oil light will slightly flicker if my motor isn't warmed up and running below 1000rpm.

You need to get the service manual for your bike. I have the Haynes, Honda Service manuals(pdf) and the Klymer book. Message me. They are invaluable to me.

·