Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Just Winging It
3,327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I can't buy a new radiator as it is discontinued. What do I need to do to fix one of these 2 radiators I have.

·
Just Winging It
3,327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Bike starts getting hot after about 10-15 miles as soon as I get in town temp goes up. Fan works, Pump works. I have flushed radiator twice with little change just made it stay cool longer not much. Last bike had same problem and I blew the engine by really overheating it but hey got home and now I have a parts bike.

·
Just Winging It
3,327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I think the core needs cleaned there does not seem to be a leak. I'm still learning though.

·
Just Winging It
3,327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Not over heating yet thank God. New thermostat, 2 flushes, looked at pump, saw water moving at top of radiator with cap off, felt upper hose pulsing with cap on. Fan comes on (only one Fan) well before it gets half way on temp gauge. Fan cycles at first then stays on after a ride of a few miles. Fins look fair on both radiators not pugged not new either.

Maybe I should have my spare radiator boiled out, pressure checked, new cap? before I install it.

·
Just Winging It
3,327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
gl1200i used to stay a lot cooler. I just want to ride but don't want to over heat this bike like I did the last one.

·
Just Winging It
3,327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Over flow staying normal level.

·
Just Winging It
3,327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Great ideas ya'll. I don't have an infrared sensor but she feels hot to me when I stop. Hose seemed stiff enough when I took it off to change thermostat and change timing belts.

What is the best way to get the radiator clean?

·
Just Winging It
3,327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·