Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, first off... Hi! new member, and I'm tossing around the idea of buying a GL1200 to serve as a dedicated touring bike... I work as a mechanic/custom builder, so I'm pretty comfortable dealing with most potential mechanical problems, but I still have a number of questions for the goldwing enthusiasts (I don't have a lot of experience with them myself, most folks out here ride Harleys or supersports).

1) I see the stator has a known issue with the connector, and I've also seen that there is/was a "pooorboy" kit to run a GM alternator in place of the stator -- is that kit still available? I don't mind replacing a stator and pinning it for a deutsch connector to avoid future issues, but I kinda like the idea of being able to just grab an alternator from any given parts store if I happen to break down hundreds of miles away from my shop.

2) these things have a dizzying array of buttons and screen in the fairing.... What all is up there? I see the standard gauge cluster front and center, with a radio lower-left, but there appears to be another screen lower-right, and depending on the model 2 more screen/button assemblies mounted in the right & left fairing lowers, near where your knees would be. What all functions do they serve? (Looking at custom building something like Paul Yaffe's Sharknado fairing and running that in lieu of the factory one, so knowing what sort of controls/screens i'll need to budget space for would be a huge help)

3) I notice in the 85-87 model years there are carbureted and EFI models... is there a particular one that would be suggested over the other based on parts availability / reliability? or is it about the same either way? thanks!

4) Are there any particular engine/transmission failure points I should be wary of when shopping for one? Or are they generally pretty bomb proof given the maintenance intervals are followed? Thanks!

·