Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Deceased 1/2017
1,206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Well it looks like the aftermarket starter that I got in Oct 09 for my 1200 SE-i has bit the dust. Just found out it had a 1 year warranty. I need to find out if the starter from an 84 1200 is the same. I would think that all the starters for 1200's would be but I am no expert, heck I'm still getting to the novice stage with ya'alls help:smiler:.

Thanks for the help!

·
Deceased 1/2017
1,206 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

I'm going to look when I get home to see if I still have it on my work bench somewhere.

·
Premium Member
5,734 Posts
imported post

as far as i know the 84 1200 starters are not a stright out change on any thing except a 84 . 85 thru 87 were the same , i think.

·
Vintage Rider
2,410 Posts
imported post

When you say "bit the dust", what exactly do you mean? Some things can be fixed, others can't. And I agree about the '84 being the oddball, I've heard it quite a few times. Not sure if it is internal different, or just the drive setup.

BTW, where did you get that starter? If it is Chinese, it is junk. I highly recommend RicksMotorports for all electrical parts. They are known throughout the motorcycle world as being the best you can get.

·
Premium Member
1,173 Posts
imported post

84 only works on 84

·
Premium Member
1,173 Posts
imported post

84 only works on 84

·
Premium Member
2,824 Posts
imported post

Jerry I must agree with your Chinese comment, but I was accused of being some kind of a ...ist. Crap is crap no matter how its wrapped up to look like.

At some point the Chinese will make very good products but we will have to endure their propensity to to make a fast buck.

Whenever another major or minor country decides to take the lead in making crap and other counties buy into that crap, the circus will keep on.