Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I know there are posts about it but, I have found ranges from 25k mi, to 80k mi, for timing belt replacementand don't know what to usefor a reference. I am a master automobile tech and work on motorcycles on the side. I don't have a problem replacing the belts at 25k I just want to know what Honda recommends, I didn't find any mention of it in the owners manual and the Clymer manual only goes over replacement procedures.

I just purchased a 86 Aspencade with 67k mi. on it for $1500, it hasn't been on the road since 2006. It looks like it's in good shape, needs some carb work (were done 3 years ago and then it sat not being used) the fuel we have now sucks (carb work is the most common work I do on bikes).

New tires were done also, (they aren't anydry rot cracks, the DOT date is 3604 though) don't know how long they will last.

The rear brake does nothing (suspecta master cylinder overhaul isnecessary).

And last but not least the fork seals are weeping.

I purchased this bike because my girlfriend doesn't want to ride on my other bike (2006 V-Strom 1000), she says she feels like she will fall off. It has a back rest and I'm told it's comfortable but...

John

·
Premium Member
12,781 Posts
imported post

Welcome John . You will recive a lot more response if you post this question in the "Technical Forum"

I dont recall if the factory service book has a mileage listed for belt replacement . This is an interference fit engine . For my own piece of mind , When I get a new project Wing it gets new belts . $40 bucks is worth the it to me . You dont know if they have ever been changed so they could be at max 24 yrs old .

·
Premium Member
28,832 Posts
imported post