Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm not new to motorcycles, but I am new to the world of Goldwings. I haven't actually bought mine yet, but that's why I'm here. I was hoping someone could give me some insight into the purchase opportunity I have. So here's the deal:

1986 GL1200 Aspencade SEi. It has 138k miles on the odometer. The transmission was "having problems" (very broad, I know), the radio doesn't work, the battery is dead, and there is some minor rust here and there because it has been sitting through summer and snowy seasons (under a bike cover) for 3 years. It isn't in terrible condition for sitting for so long, but it will most definitely need some TLC.

Here's the kicker: The owner bought an engine and transmission on Ebay a couple of years ago. It has 32k on it, and has been crated in storage for a couple of years now.

Here's the other kicker: He wants $500 for everything.

So is this just a no-brainer deal of the century or fairly standard for this kind of condition?
What kind of work will it take to get it up and running as a daily rider, and will it be worth buying over one that is already in good condition?
Or would it be worth fixing up to sell for a profit, then using the profit to buy one that is in better condition?

I'm thinking I might even be able to sell it for a profit as it is, but I don't know much about these bikes yet. Thank you in advance for your input!

·
Administrator
1987 GL1200 Interstate
23,323 Posts
Hi, and welcome to the forum.
The injected models can be a real trial if you need parts. Some of them are now made of unobtanium. So, you could possibly be buying a bike that will never run again...worst case.
Maybe you have an easy fix up classic with years of service left in it...best case