Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hello. my friend just brought his 1500 for an oil change and told me to check why the exhaust would sound different.. so i layed down on the ground and noticed the center part of the exhaust system is broken where it connects to the tail pipe.

so we have really good muflers shop that will be able to repair this. the question is.
since im new to the 1500s how hard is to get this center part of the exhaust out?. what would be the best way to fix this? ill take the tail pipe out and see if they could weld it with that thing in place. but i highly doubt it and if they can, it wouldn't be as good as if they do it outsite.

thanks. attack picture: is just the right side.

·
Senior Guru
3,873 Posts
imported post

hi willian 86 your collector box is gone best to replace it the far side wont be long after, you will need to strip the hole exhaust off thats from the hedders down as you cant get the new one in unless you do this because of the angle the hedders go into it

·
Premium Member
218 Posts
imported post

Looking at the photo I think you're going to need a new collector box.You will need to remove the exhaust covers and the silencers to get at this.

·
Premium Member
4,379 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

well... yes seems pretty damaged by rust. might be dangerous just to try to get it out. we're planning a trip.. around 400 km round trip. do you think running the bike like this may damage the bike? our this is this weekend.

·
Senior Guru
3,873 Posts
imported post

you would be ok for the trip but put some epoxy putty around it to stop the fumes going up to the passanger when stoped in traffic ect and it should also hold it in place for now

·
Premium Member
2,919 Posts
imported post

Watch eBay every day. People are breaking up 1500s all the time. I got an ENTIRE exhaust system from the engine to the tips DELIVERED for$85.00 !!