Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I am new to the GW world and have recently purchased a well used 89 w/about 120kmiles on it.
I've noticed, what I think is, an odd quirk that's other folks likely have experience with.

The bike will not start in gear. Has to be in neutral. Sidestand up, sidestand down, clutch in or out--HAS TO BE IN NEUTRAL.
That just doesn't seem right to me.

The sidestand switch is operational. If I stop in gear and place the stand down it kills the engine.

Any idea where to start?

BTW--I'm going to be doing a fair amount of maintenance work soon due to the unknown history.

Plan on doing:
Timing belts & tensioner bearings
Coolant drain, flush and fill
Plugs
Check all hoses
Change rear diff fluid
Check all braking systems--new fluid at the least
Air cleaner
Check wheel bearings and 'head' bearings--likely replace all of those this winter.
Oil was just changed...
Adjust:
brakes
levers
throttle cables
bars--are they adjustable? Would like not so much 'pullback'

·
Premium Member
4,910 Posts
imported post

Don't know much about the 1500s, except for the basic rules of all internal combustion engines (carbureted), but my 1200 (and others) has a switch in the clutch lever ass'y, that allows me to start (restart in traffic) while in gear...could be that switch is defective? :baffled: :waving:

·
Premium Member
3,797 Posts
imported post

Your bike should start in gear with the side stand up and the clutch lever pulled all the way to the hand grip.

If it doesn't, the most likely cause is the micro switch at the clutch lever.

Do this.........

Pull the clutch lever in slowly, you should here a click right away, that's the cruise switch, as the clutch lever gets to the hand grip, you should here a 2nd click, that's the micro switch that allows the bike to start in gear.