Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Premium Member
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know how to get more range from your CB? On a good day I can talk about a mile, if I'm lucky. I have 2 SWRs. Also can you buy a 50/100 watt amp, and if so, where?

·
Banned
12,287 Posts
imported post

In general, more range will come from a properly aligned radio and a finely tuned antenna.

In specifics, you've a trike and will probably have better range than a bike if the above are met.

In reality, just so long as the amp doesn't tax your alternator you'll get out further, but what good will that be if you cannot here who it is that is hearing you? I'd concentrate first on the receive end of things. There may be things you can do to improve reception, which will be important if you talk further than you can hear with a amp. Most receive pre-amps are junk, so beware.

Unfortunately I've no direct experience with a 1800's CB set-up, but I imagine improving the coax from the transmitter to the antenna would help tremendously based on some of the older model GL's I've seen..

·
Premium Member
124 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

I have a 2005 Wing. What would you suggest for me to do to improve my coax? Also every heard of using a strap connected to the frame and dragging the ground like tanker trucks use. I think some one is trying to use the pavemnet and a better ground-plane.

I've read some of your other replies and you seem to know about CBs.

·
Administrator
02 GL1800 w/Auto Pilot
59,716 Posts
imported post

The ground strap on the pavement is not for the CB radios in trucks.

It is to drain off static electricity so that hazardous materials won't go boom on a bad day.

Low humidity and static electricity go hand in hand. You should be familiar with door knobs that bite you in the winter months.

·
Premium Member
28,832 Posts
imported post