Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Goldwings but not to riding. I have a Yamaha Road Star and Royal Star Venture.
The question I have is when I am on the motorcycle it seems to shift fine between 1st and 2nd, but when I try to put in neutral it seems hard to get into neutral. Is this normal for an 06 GL 1800 or is there a clutch adjustment to make it easier to find neutral when stopped?
Thanks
Kent

·
Still Learning
13,274 Posts
Welcome to the forum Kent
Has the Dot 4 fluid been changed out yearly in the clutch and brake systems?
If not the slave cylinder may be filled with gunk that only a take apart and clean the slave and master cylinders then flush and bleeding will correct. I have seen it on my bike as my friend that had it before me had been sick for 3 years. The dot 4 was brownish red in the master cylinder and the slave cylinder was leaking fluid out through the seal. I have seen it on other bikes too.
It would also help to flush the motor with a qt of marvel mystery oil, drain out a qt of engine oil and refill with MMO, ride a ride of 200-300 miles, 1 ride, to get the motor fully hot to loosen the gunk, then while hot change the oil and filter to flush out the gunk. Then new oil and filter. Are you using Delo 400 15w40 oil? Most here use it and many say shifting is quieter and easier.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The motor has just been rebuild as there was as 5th gear whine and all the parts associated with the 5th gear were replaced. I presume that requires a motor rebuild.
The odometer shows 26K. It only has maybe 30 miles on the motor.
I bought it from Rome GA so I can't just go and show it to the rebuilder.
Also there is too much snow here to get it out and ride. Oh yeah.... did I mention that it is a newly built trike?
Thanks

·
Senior Moment Member
3,707 Posts