Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi:A newbie here,please have patience.
I have a 2003 Goldwing 1800 with a 2000 Hannigan Astro GT sidecar.
I took a trip to Canada's east coast in June of this year. About 8 hours down the hiway a fuse melted in the fuse box, changed fuse and continued on. Long storey short,I had a total of 4 fuses melted in the fuse box after the 2 week trip. Stopped at 3 shops to get them to have a look at it but no one had the time.Limped along as best we could to get home.When at home I ordered a new main wiring harness and installed it. When I turned the key on I noticed the F1 light was blinking at 2 long blinks and 4 short blinks and the wiring on the left was smoking ,so I turned off the key. Ordered a new left handlebar (switches) harness and installed it. Turned on the key and the new left handlebar harness was getting warm so I turned the key off. The sidecar has it's own fuse box for lights and there is a separate fusebox for the led lighting on the bike.This is where I am at now. Any magicians or miracle workers out there that could possibly shed some light on the problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanx Jerry

·
Premium Member
390 Posts
It's kind of strange the the fuse melted instead of blowing. Which fuse was it? Which wire in the left control harness was heating up? This would be where I'd start looking, the circuits involved.

·
Premium Member
6,828 Posts
What do you mean by the fuse melted. Do you mean the exterior of the fuse melted? (the plastic part) If the plastic melted that is usually from high resistance. Normally it would be that the connection from the fuse box to the fuse is not good for whatever reason. Resistance builds heat. If the amperage is low enough the fuse will not blow. If the connection is poor the resistance makes enough heat to melt plastic.