Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Well, just when I thought I had decided against it, I am looking at it again. I just cant see paying $200.00 for a tire and getting less than 10,000 miles. Soooo, what is the most cost effective,and most popular tore out there to go "dark"? Anything in the $60-70.00 range run falt

Wingman59

·
Registered
2,795 Posts

·
Pwhoever
3,182 Posts
imported post

I would be cautious about the 195/55R16. There are 2 members here that have used that size but in the General G-Max model. You can read about it HERE and post #123 HERE. One liked it after finally airing it up to 50psi but the other guy hated it completely. I have no experience in this size but I have seen it mentioned that because of the width of the GL1500 rim, and the fact that this tire is a low profile and wider than a 175, this tire has more of a tendency to wiggle. Maybe the Ziez has a more rigid sidewall.

One other tire that comes in 175/60R16 is the Bridgestone Turanza. One place you can find them is HERE.

·
Monkey with a Football
19,237 Posts
imported post

The previous two posts are great info.

I'm running the Federal on my 1500 and it is comfortable and I like the tread pattern. It gets great traction wet or dry and I like the 3/4" lower ride but with the trailer on, it has problems at some speeds. Also it is only imported about 2x per year in the US so you have to get them when they are available.

I would consider the Run Flat type just to see if the trailer action was improved with the stiffer side walls on these.

The Austone might be a good choice as well with it's 6 plies and heavy load rating but I can't deal with the taller ride and my short legs.

Have not considered the others yet.

I did just lengthen the trailer tongue by 16 inches so maybe that will slow down the tennis match between the trailer and the Federal's side walls.