Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I'm now brand new to Goldwinging. Got an '83 Aspencade with only 23K miles on it Monday. I had a Honda 750 for years and put over 120K miles on it. Loved the bike and hated the chain. It had no type of windshield, and until Monday I have never ridden a bike that has one. The vetter makes things weird too....it doesn't turn and change direction... Anyway, I was noticing how loud this thing is. First of all, what's the whining sound? I notice it rises and falls with the RPMs, not actual motion. Then there are clattering sounds deep within. I'm thinking when I over rev it gets bad? It sounds a lot different than the 750. But, finally it dawned on me that a big part of it is because I could never really hear what was going on before because of the wind, and the clattering in general is okay and it's not really tearing itself apart like it sounds...I hope.

·
Premium Member
2,445 Posts
imported post

Welcome Nopeda!

It's differant, no doubt. You'll also notice a clunk sound when shifting, especially the lower gears. That's normal for the Goldwing Klunk-o-matic trans.

Tru you don't have a chain to maintain or tension now. But you do have a radiator and final drive to deal with.

·
Premium Member
2,739 Posts
imported post

Yes, having a fairing does make the engine sounds more noticeable.

from what I've found working on goldwings, the whining is probably coming from the timing belt tensioners and the rattling is the primary chain inside of the engine.

Does the rattling go away when you give it gas? if so, then yes, it is the chain.
Synchronizing the carbs does wonders in making that chain slap go away.
I'm willing to bet that your bike isn't tearing itself apart.

You'll get used to the fairing not moving with the handlebars, I did.

Welcome to goldwinging!

·
Premium Member
15 Posts
imported post