Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Premium Member
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
imported post

Hi all I am a complete novice that loves Goldwings. I'm told they rule for long distance riding and Harley's are the bike of choice for around town for fun riding.

I don't see myself going over the road on long distance rides so Im not sure the Goldwing is the best choice? Also I don't own a garage so my bike will be driveway kept and hopefully stored indoors for winter.

Any reccomendations and pros and cons on both bikes will be very helpful to me. Experienced riders opinions are very welcomed!

Thanks

KB

·
Premium Member
2,381 Posts
imported post

Just my opinion on Harleys, hope nobody takes offense.

Some of the reasons I would never buy a Harley.

1) Too noisy

2) They vibrate too much and are not mechanically reliable

3) The seating position is not comfortable (pegs are too far forward, putting too much weight on the spine)

4) Far too expensive for such a simple bike

5) Too many ride them these days to look 'cool' or 'bad-a**' - to me they look like yuppies dressed upas pirates - makes me want to laugh

6) Most of these groups (usually a bunch of them together) don't take safety very seriously.

Reasons to buy a Goldwing.

1) Less expensive than a Harley for a much more refined and reliable bike

2) Did I say reliable? Yep - Goldwings are pretty darn reliable and trouble-free

3) Much, much more comfortable than most Harleys

4) More practical than a Harley

5) If you ever did want to take up touring, it's what the Goldwing was designed for. It does it admirably.

6) You'll be seen as a much more refined, safe,and experienced rider on a Goldwing - seems to have that aura.

7) Predictable, balanced,and precise handling - not sportbike-like, but pretty good nonetheless.