Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow Goldwing lovers,

I am EZ, and I am located in Kansas. I have owned my 1983 GW Interstate for several years now. Currently the bike is somewhat taken apart, as I have to replace the head gaskets. I've never done the job before, but what does that matter?!?!

Nothing to it but to do it, I say!!

I am a new member here on this forum, and I'm here to learn from everyone.

My Wing needs a lot of love, and I figure that I will do all the upgrades and refresh work while I have the bike torn apart.

A short list of what I'm looking to tackle....

Head gaskets (with all that entails)
Carb cleaning & refresh
Engine case cleaning / repainting (coating is flaking off)
Fork rebuild
Coil upgrade (Dodge Neon coil pack)
Wiring harness check / rebuild (as necessary)
Brake check / rebuild (as necessary)
Rear air ride check / rebuild (as necessary)
Surface rust clean-up

So basically, it's a really LONG short list!!! Ya know, like re-do the whole damn bike, basically!!

One thing I'm curious about, since I have the heads off... Why would one piston crown NOT be showing much carbon build-up, while the other three show excessive build-up? Does that mean anything to anyone here? Anyone experienced that?

If anyone has any tips or tricks for any of the aforementioned short list stuff :grin3::grin3: definitely feel free to shoot me a message or attach it to this Intro thread. Either way, I will read it.

Thanks in advance everyone.

Sincerely,

EZ

P.S. -- I have attached a picture of each side of the engine (as it sits right now) to show the carbon build-up issue I mentioned above.

Attachments

·
Administrator
25,568 Posts
:welc: I would say cyl #1 is using a little oil and piston #4 is washed off from coolant.

·
Premium Member
2,445 Posts
Greetingz EZ!