Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

hello all im new to the form i just bought my 88 1500 and after a day of riding i heard a knocking noice i thought rod bearin at first it only does it when the motor is warmso i got a broom handle and started listiening all over motor to me the noice is coiming from the tranny just below the alternator has any had problem or what should i do ty

·
Senior Guru
3,873 Posts
imported post

hi charls you need to be more pacif on whats going onlike is it only on tic over or in certin gears i think to start it would be a good idea to change theengine oil and filter and then see if it still happens

·
Premium Member
1,221 Posts
imported post

Hi Charles82 it could be the alternator bearing or worn rubber dampers, is this the original alternator??:waving::waving::waving:

·
Premium Member
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

sorry when the motor gets hot it does it while riding or siting there idlin i dont here the raddle coming of the crank case but on the left and right side of the tranny

·
Senior Guru
3,873 Posts
imported post

the alternator normaly causes a vibration as you have said a knocking noise a good quality oil might just get rid of this for you because when the oil get hot it tins out you might have worn berings in the gearbox and may be ok for many thousands of miles yet

·
Senior Guru
3,873 Posts
imported post

i dont know whats avaible in the states as it depends on what temp you have in carolina if you put oil in the search box you will find loads of info there

·
Premium Member
745 Posts
imported post

agnogel wrote:
i dont know whats avaible in the states as it depends on what temp you have in carolina if you put oil in the search box you will find loads of info there
Hi agnogel

I plan on doing an oiland filter change soon.can I get the parts locally or should I look on the interweb ??

Eric

·
Senior Guru
3,873 Posts