Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

this is my first time to post on any blog I'm not good with computers so excuse the things i do wrong.
I just bought a 89 wing (great bike) The question i have is on the fairing right side by the the windshield adjustment lever is a square hole about one inch. The owner did not know what is was for he bought the bike used anybody know what goes there.

Attachments

·
Best looking member
3,107 Posts
imported post

On the SE models, that is where the knob to control the foot warmers goes.

·
Monkey with a Football
19,237 Posts
imported post

That is normally not opened up. Someone cut that box out to install something. Honda molded the spot in for a second knob like your left side has for the headlight adjusters.
I believe it adjusts the heat vents on some of the later models.
I stuck my headlight modulator sensor there on mine.
Get a digital voltmeter that fits there for it. Some guys mount a cigarette lighter there as well.

·
Premium Member
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

I thought it was not normal I have both the service manual and owners manual neither mention this. I thought maybe a cap went there i could replace

·
Premium Member
250 Posts
imported post

My '91 Interstate has a rubber cap covering the hole. You should be able to get it through Honda or just try different rubber stoppers.

Pat

·
Pwhoever
3,161 Posts
imported post

Yup, rubber cap covers it on all models except the SE. It's a great location to add an auxilliary power ports there to make the hole useful. You just have to open it up a little more with something like a dremel so a power port will fit. If you are looking at just replacing the plug, it's part #10 I believe and can be had for a couple bucks.

·
Premium Member
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
imported post