Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I'm anxiously gathering "stuff" to get working with on my bike,when my foot and the weather gets ready so I can work. I got a used rear mastercylinder to rebuild-figuring if the one on mine is too bad to rebuild i'll have a spare.The rear brakes worked when I first looked at the bike -he said he had just had the calipers rebuilt and new pads.He rode it over here and the rear brakes failed on the way-he offered to get them fixed but I said "no problem ". The resivour is full so it must be by passing. Maybe just bleeding would cure it but I want to be sure. Next I was looking for a hone small enough to hone the cyl with-I got lucky I had one small enough in my shop. While reading the manual I noticed it said nothing of honing the cylinder-but said not to try to dissamble the pressure regulator valve on the rear of the cylinder. Interesting! If I hone it I may get contamination in the valve. I don't like the idea of not honing the cylinder!! What have you guys done?

To Hone or not to hone???

·
Premium Member
7 Posts
imported post

I wouldn't hone it at all as the metal is very soft. Maybe just a light cleanup with 1200 grade wet & dry at the most and even then only if there are marks or corrosion that need rubbing out.

·
Premium Member
294 Posts
imported post

Hi Bill

I wouldn't hone it just to hone it. Maybe if you were trying to get rid of a scratch or something, otherwise as mentioned just clean it up with very fine wet sand paper. thats how I would go.

Good Luck Tom

·
Premium Member
2,970 Posts
imported post