Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hello everyone. Sorry for the beginner question, but I'm relatively new to bikes. used to ride when I was a kid and am just trying to get back in the saddle.

I'm fixing up a 1975 goldwing and want to put fresh tires on front and rear. I can figure out the tire sizes well enough, but don't understand all of the measurements for the inner tubes. I see tubes for sale with different size valves, etc.

first I need to know what inner tube is correct for stock 1975 goldwing DID aluminum rims.

second, now my curiousity is up and I'm just curious about what these different sizes mean and how to measure of figure out this sizing system.

thanks all and I apologize in advance for the newbie question. This site looks absolutely wonderful and I've been luriking around for a week or two!

brant

·
Registered
819 Posts
imported post

The 75 and 76 GL1000 have spoke rims and do require an innertube.

The parts manual list the front tube size as 3.50 - 19

and the rear tube size is listed as 4.50 - 17

I am assuming that the numbers are inches.

Hope this helps.

Peter

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
imported post

Thanks a ton fella's
the manuals are amazing, this is going to take a while to read through

regarding the inner tubes. I was looking on bike bandit to purchase new ones and they showed options for valve length and valve size. For example my front tire is a 100/90/19 so when I select that size of tube it shows a
19inch tube with options for:

- stem type: "standard" or "offset" are the 2 options
- stem offset: the options are "TR4/TR6", "TR87c",
and "JS87c"
- stem diameter: the options are "8mm" or "10mm"

wow.. lots of options for a tube
anybody know what TR4/6 means?

I can measure the diameter and I'm assuming the "type" of standard is probably the right one..

but I have no idea what the different stem offset measurements mean?