Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hey folks,

I'm pretty sure one or both of the timing belt idler pulleys is squealing around 1700-2000 rpm after the bike warms up. The squeal is not there aboveor below 1700-2000. I am going to change the timing belts, but I was wondering how long those pulleys will go like that. Also, Im not good at building mechanical things so I would just as soon buy the pulleys. Where can they be ordered from?

Thanks,

Dave:?

·
Registered
10,509 Posts

·
Registered
10,509 Posts

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post

For some reason I missed your rebuild on the tensioners Sandiegobrass, great write up and pictures. When I get a chance I'll build up a set.

For those who want to buy new, the complete tensioner is available from Motogrid for $71 ea.

http://www.motogrid.com/pages/parts/viewbybrand/default.aspx

·
Premium Member
427 Posts
imported post

I got mine from CycleMax for $67.00. Someone also indicated that the tensioners can be rebuilt for not much money. Do a search in the tech forum for the rebuild procedure.

·
Piled Higher and Deeper
4,513 Posts
imported post

exavid wrote:
For some reason I missed your rebuild on the tensioners Sandiegobrass, great write up and pictures. When I get a chance I'll build up a set....
Thanks.. I think I posted that when you were doing all you moving.... and that write up is enough to figure it out.. But, I will have more to add later..

but to the subject of the thread.... you have only three choices (1) buy the OEM new for about $63 each (service honda or honda direct) (2) buy used ones for about $15 each with unknown life or (3) rebuild you own (like my instructions) for about $20-$30 each..