Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Hello Everyone

Les From Colorado, USA,here. I'm glad I found you.

I hope I can input in the future, but being as I am a musician (http://www.LesTension.com) my mechanical knowledge is so-so.

I do have a question now though, so thanks in advance for any help.

I have a 1976 GL1000, and riding to the market today the motor started running on 1/2 power. This happened all at once, no "s-p-u-t-t-e-rring" Turned around and drove home for a diagnosis. Took out the plugs and upon shorting to the head while cranking the motor over, discovered that only the rear cylinder spark plugswere firing(3&4).

So my limited knowledge indicated the coil for cylinders 1&2 is faulty. For confirmation of this I started to dig in to get at the coils. They make it sound so easy in the manual! What a pain in the butt! And to add insult to injury, I have a vetter- type fairing that I had to remove.

So far so good. I got the mounting bolts loose, but my primary wires (the little ones, not the spark plug leads) do NOT have a harness plug and jack but are all connected individually to each other.

SOOOOOOOOOO...... Before I go into surgery, my question is this:

Is there any other reason to cause only 2 cylinders to fire other than a faulty ignition coil?

Whew!! Got that off my chest. But I just put $500.00 (US) into it for other goodies last week and I wanna RIDE!!

Thanks again in advance,

Les

PS: Feel free to e-mail me. [email protected]

PPS. OOOPS! I forgot to mention that I had a shop install electronic ignition. NO breaker points and condncers for this guy!

·
Premium Member
1,028 Posts
imported post