Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,919 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Trailered home a sick '88 1500 a while back. Chased down some wiring problems, and installed a 90A CompuFire alternator. Changed oil, checked tire pressure, chucked in some SeaFoam, filled the tank and went for a brief rip last Sunday. Ran decent, a little rough in spots but not too bad. Idled smoothly when warm, and pulled nicely. It's my first time on a 1500, so I don't have anything to compare it to.

Jumped on the thing this afternoon (a week later)for a brief jaunt, and it barely runs. It DEMANDS full choke for a few minutes after start-up, so when it was running a little chunky at first - I figured it would clean itself out as it warmed up. . . . Not So.

It's running super-rich all of a sudden. Barely idles at all, ticks over at less than 500rpm and stinks like gas BAD. It doesn't do much of anything until 2,500 rpm. I had it at a friend's house, and he said he could smell the gas as I rode by. I barelylimped it home, and it stalled in the garage.

I'm going to dig into it a bit tomorrow - check for blocked air cleaner, stuck choke, etc . . . . It's probably nothing major, I was just wondering if this is a common thing with the 1500s (going rich all of a sudden), and whether any of you guys may have run into it before ??

·
Premium Member
1,424 Posts
imported post

other than crap in your jets...or air cleaner...check the fuel shutoff valve for leakin...that can go funny anytime and even after it sets awhile...giving a rich run

·
Premium Member
1,398 Posts
imported post

Probably float level. Mine is older, but one of the floats was way too low in the bowl and really dumping gas like it was going out of style.

·
Senior Guru
3,873 Posts
imported post

i would go for a stuck choke valve

·
Premium Member
162 Posts
imported post