Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Administrator
Joined
·
58,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Going to try out the Satellite internet service option next week and compare apples to apples for Uptime/Download availability...
going to cost a bit more, but will have to see how it compares to AT&T.

just got off the phone with the local representative....
he is going to let me have the use of this Test Station setup for a week so that I can get a sense of how the service is over a span of a few days....

last Sunday, we had 27 outages thru the day, and the shortest possible is 2:10,
yes, 2 minutes 10 seconds.

that is how long it takes for the modem to search for the server, lock into it , and resync and deliver me a clean internet signal....

so frustrating it is....
AT&T is $60 per month plus taxes....

as I type this, the characters quit responding back to me....
I had to do a control-A copy, and paste this into a Text Editor so I could finish up what I want to say...

the ViaSat representative says their signal strength is a lot stronger that DirecTV and Dish network. Their equipment senses a loss of Received Signal from the Satellite and ramps up the Transmit Power to the Satelillite and it will respond back with the S/N ratio ( signal to noise )

no such thing exists with DSL on a phone line, once it starts having trouble, it just drops out...

Still typing, and the internet is still gone.... sigh!!!
have to wait another 95 seconds before I can paste and then click SUBMIT.


==================


grrrrr, that 2 minutes outage dropped the link to the forum.


I had to start all over, and start this thread again.......... :frown2::frown2:
 

·
Premium Member
2012 GL1800
Joined
·
421 Posts
With sat internet you will probably only lose it during storms. Or if the occasional tornado lifts your disk from the ground. :)
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
58,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Talking to the rep tonight, I specifically asked him how it performs versus DirecTV or Dish reception.


he said that he has DishTV and that Dish will disappear and his ViaSat service is still working just fine.


he told me that their equipment has Power Control software that ramps up the Tx power of the ground station if the sat has trouble hearing it..... don't know how that would work from sat to ground.... he just said that the Sat's TX output is strong enough, and the ground Receiver's noise floor is low enough, that they almost never loose the internet signal.


there is an additional option that I asked him about tonight, taking the TxRx station with me in the Toy Hauler so that while we are out traipsing around, that we can have internet anywhere that we stop for the night.... they do offer that also.



the "free WiFi" of the KOAs is a joke, it is just as bad as Motel 6, as in, Not Worth a Damn.


that is why that I have had a Verizon MiFi router for 15 years now.
when we are out and about, and the net is gone, we use the Verizon MiFi
 

·
Magic Moderator
Joined
·
4,435 Posts
Nothing sux worse than poor quality internet signals, it was hit and miss with the free signal from the nursing home a better part of this week. My new phone has a built in hotspot that I use for banking, I can add unlimited data for $40.00 a month. Tom and Ruth need a satellite internet service out in the sticks of New Mexico. AT&T has lousy phone service where I live.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
58,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Well, we have two internet service providers for a week....


AT&T is still there and available, but the ViaSat rep came by and set me up with a sat dish/modem situated on a shipping pallet.


I stacked a bunch of bricks on the pallet so it won't be moving around in the wind.


so far, it is hit and miss for speed, but this is "prime time" right now.
I have the Uptime Network Monitor connected to it, so can compare

Apples to Apples as for reliability.


Here is today's log for AT&T.... nice and solid, eh?
what's that you say? you can't hear me, eh??




..date..........time..............outage length... Hr..Min..Sec..

11/13/2018 9:40:17 PM 0:00:03
11/14/2018 1:43:55 AM 0:00:41
11/14/2018 1:44:44 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 1:45:29 AM 0:00:36
11/14/2018 1:46:13 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 1:46:58 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 1:47:43 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 1:48:28 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 1:49:14 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 1:49:59 AM 0:00:36
11/14/2018 1:50:43 AM 0:00:36
11/14/2018 1:51:28 AM 0:00:40
11/14/2018 1:52:16 AM 0:00:36
11/14/2018 1:53:00 AM 0:01:26
11/14/2018 1:54:34 AM 0:00:36
11/14/2018 1:55:19 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 1:56:04 AM 0:00:36
11/14/2018 1:56:48 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 1:57:46 AM 0:00:24
11/14/2018 1:58:19 AM 0:00:36
11/14/2018 1:59:03 AM 0:00:40
11/14/2018 1:59:52 AM 0:00:07
11/14/2018 2:00:13 AM 0:00:15
11/14/2018 2:00:36 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 2:01:21 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 2:02:06 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 2:02:51 AM 0:00:36
11/14/2018 2:03:36 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 2:04:21 AM 0:00:36
11/14/2018 2:05:05 AM 0:00:03
11/14/2018 10:14:46 AM 0:01:53
11/14/2018 10:20:31 AM 0:00:23
11/14/2018 10:21:01 AM 0:00:35
11/14/2018 10:25:58 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 10:26:44 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 10:27:29 AM 0:00:37
11/14/2018 10:28:14 AM 0:00:32
11/14/2018 10:34:57 AM 0:01:54
11/14/2018 11:31:48 AM 0:01:55
11/14/2018 11:47:24 AM 0:01:53
11/14/2018 12:03:07 PM 0:01:53
11/14/2018 12:36:26 PM 0:01:55
11/14/2018 12:49:48 PM 0:01:48
11/14/2018 12:58:59 PM 0:01:47
11/14/2018 2:26:22 PM 0:00:38
---------- Note ----------
11/14/2018 7:17:56 PM
Switched to Satellite WiFi
by Okie-Fi
------ End of Note -------
 

·
Magic Moderator
Joined
·
4,435 Posts
I hope the satellite works out better for you. If I use the hotspot on my phone the speed just zips along, but I use that for banking. Safelink does have a plan for $40.00 a month unlimited.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
58,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
well,
it is 10:30 PM and that's 3.5 hours of solid service.
not a single beep from the network monitor.


there is a slight delay between the mouse click and something happening, but, once that is started up, pages load fast... the delay is the distance from the ground station, to the satellite, back to their ground station to pass on the request, and then to reverse all of that.


doing better than I thought it would.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
633 Posts
What's your ping latency on the satellite?

Pinging goldwingfacts.com [35.201.111.149] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 35.201.111.149: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=54
Reply from 35.201.111.149: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=54
Reply from 35.201.111.149: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=54
Reply from 35.201.111.149: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=54
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
58,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
as the Sat is way the gawd up there, even at the speed of light, it takes a while because that trip has to make it twice, "going up and down" is a trip, and backing up for the reply and back down for the 2nd half of the trip. 4 trips to the moon and back for each ping.


[email protected] ~ $ ping 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=1 ttl=119 time=637 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=2 ttl=119 time=632 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=3 ttl=119 time=603 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=4 ttl=119 time=637 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=5 ttl=119 time=648 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=6 ttl=119 time=677 ms
^C
--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
7 packets transmitted, 6 received, 14% packet loss, time 6000ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 603.444/639.568/677.852/22.041 ms




ping 35.201.111.149
PING 35.201.111.149 (35.201.111.149) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 35.201.111.149: icmp_seq=1 ttl=53 time=669 ms
64 bytes from 35.201.111.149: icmp_seq=2 ttl=53 time=658 ms
64 bytes from 35.201.111.149: icmp_seq=3 ttl=53 time=658 ms
64 bytes from 35.201.111.149: icmp_seq=4 ttl=53 time=662 ms
64 bytes from 35.201.111.149: icmp_seq=5 ttl=53 time=857 ms
64 bytes from 35.201.111.149: icmp_seq=6 ttl=53 time=620 ms
64 bytes from 35.201.111.149: icmp_seq=7 ttl=53 time=660 ms
64 bytes from 35.201.111.149: icmp_seq=8 ttl=53 time=659 ms
64 bytes from 35.201.111.149: icmp_seq=9 ttl=53 time=662 ms
^C
--- 35.201.111.149 ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 9 received, 10% packet loss, time 9000ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 620.337/678.865/857.195/64.434 ms
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
58,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Here are 4 test results, most recent is on top of list.
the worst times were right after it was turned on for me, and the rep had to do some adjusting to the Modem parameters from his Maintenance Utility.... that seemed to help..


the Upload is capping out at 1.0 Mbps and I am not happy about that.....
he claims that will get better with a new modem that is not "capped out"....
he has not arrived yet today but it is only 10:30 a.m. and he did not get off the airplane last night from Denver until 12:30 a.m. so suspect he is snoozing in, plus catching up on work details....
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
633 Posts
Understood the round trips to the bird and back, the latency is actually better than I was guessing it might be.... :)
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
58,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Hope the satellite system is working better today and they brought you the modem that isn't restricted.
the new modem is doing fine, one thing we have noticed with ViaSat is that the down time so far, has been zero up until about an hour ago. For some reason, it rebooted, and that takes a few minutes for it sync back up. Called the rep but he was out and about and could not look at it.
 

·
Magic Moderator
Joined
·
4,435 Posts
I ran the speed test and as usual it failed, here are the numbers: 1.24Mbps download, 1.13 Mbps upload and 19ms latency. It mentioned I had very slow internet.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
58,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #17

·
Magic Moderator
Joined
·
4,435 Posts
The Google speed test turned out the same as last night and its still slow as molasses in January.
I gave that other link a try and it sent back, bad request. I may have done something wrong.
Hopefully the Dell will be running Windows7 when the recovery/reinstall media arrives.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
58,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
The Google speed test turned out the same as last night and its still slow as molasses in January.
I gave that other link a try and it sent back, bad request. I may have done something wrong.
Hopefully the Dell will be running Windows7 when the recovery/reinstall media arrives.



the link in Terminal require Python 3, and if you have one of the slimmed down Linux versions, it is not included.


go to Software Manager and type 'python' and see what shows up.
 

·
Magic Moderator
Joined
·
4,435 Posts
Python3 has a green check mark next to it. it also lists a lot of other things with 'Python3' in the title on software manager. I'm not sure what Peppermint9 has. I have to admit since I gave the Dell more RAM, Peppermint9 flies even with the slow @$$ internet speed.
 
1 - 20 of 49 Posts
Top