Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

On the road today, with the '89 I bought last fall, no maintenance records. Have done quite a bit of maintenance this winter, blowing the dust out of it this afternoon.

Going 65 down the road this afternoon, about 70 miles into the ride. The engine simply stopped.....no warning, no sputter, just stopped. Got off the road.....thought about it, but guys, I'm NO mechanic. I just follow all the instructions on here, and in my maintenance manual. So......stopped, tried a restart. All electrical seemed fine, starter tried, engine didn't turn over.

It's back in the garage, so I can begin freaking out. My intuition has been pounding on me to change the timing belts, as I have NO records from PO. 58,000 miles. Have just jumped in and started all maintenance, but no local belts available. Was planning to orderor drive and get some next week. Really......ya gotta believe me......

Any thoughts as to what I might look for besides the belts?

Thanks for any help!

·
Premium Member
2,098 Posts
imported post

Long shot here but have you checked the kill switch on the right grip?

If it was timing belts you'd know it. A lot of noise is generated by valves and pistons colliding.

·
Premium Member
1,591 Posts
imported post

Start with the basics, make sure you've got gas (don't trust the gauge), check the kill switch, check your fuses, check the fuel filter, pull a plug out and lay it on the engine to check for spark. An engine needs 3 things to run, fuel, compression and spark, check all 3.

·
Premium Member
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
imported post

WOW.......good thoughts, guys! Will go check this out! Thank you!

·
Premium Member
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
imported post

GEEZ......

What an idiot. Can we get Steve to have an Idiot's forum? Maybe have a monthly contest?

Kill switch.

Go ahead. Laugh.

·
Premium Member
275 Posts
Discussion Starter #9