Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Are any of you running the Dunlop K177's? I THINK??? I have it narrowed down to another set of BS's or the Dunlop K177's.

Thank you all so VERY MUCH who responded to my firstpost aboutmy tires.

Mike

·
Premium Member
1,027 Posts
imported post

Bridgestones for me, I find they grip better in the wet and are a bit quieter.

·
Premium Member
32 Posts
imported post

Just out of idle curiosity, what has been the experience here regarding other brands of tires? Pirelli, Avon, Metezeler, etc.

It seems the consensus here is Dunlop, altho some variance of opinion about which one.

·
Premium Member
6,319 Posts
imported post

To be honest I never liked bike tires for all the years I used to ride and still didn't when I started riding again last year. I just never had any choice till now.

With my 1500 I have gone to the darkside!
I just started running an Austone Taxi Tire on mine!
I only rode about 300 miles on it so far but have nothing bad to say about it yet!

I like it far better than the good E3 I took off. Handles better for me, no noise, I rode in the rain and was fine and felt safer on it.
I never rode that good or hard in the twisties, but with the taxi tire I found I could run a bit harder with better handling and taking curves I ride often a bit more aggressive with better control.

I've had several problems with bike tires including a Bridgestone cracking up for no reason about or under 5k.
I don't think I'll have that problem with the Taxi Tire.

It is shaped a bit rounder than a normal car tire so handles more like a bike tire also with good tread on the sides as well. I think the foot print on the road may be about equal to the E3 on turns and better on straights running flat.
I ran though a wet spot on road and saw the thin foot print of the E3 before I change tires. I was surprised the E3 was not a wider contact area.