Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys newbie here excuse me for posting here if I'm in the wrong spot... I have an 83 interstate that I am adding 2 round led lights to in my trunk ... The problem I'm having is that the turn an stop are on the same circuit , when the brake is applied the turn signal stops flashing also when the turn is flashing it's flashing on both sides an my factory stop an tail light .. I know its back feeding in the system Is this happening because I'm using the factory flasher or do I need to put a diode inline to stop this or what's my options as far as a solution here ... Thanks any help is greatly appreciated ... Thanks Tony

·
Still Learning
13,274 Posts
Welcome to the forum Tony
The goldwings come with separate turn and brake circuits. In other words you would have brake lights on separate bulbs/LED lights unless you have a converter like used to a 2 light trailer circuit wiring. Do you have a converter?

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No converter but that was a thought I had forgotten to mention in my post .. Any trailer light converter should work right ?

·
Premium Member
12,868 Posts
Hello Tony and Welcome . I am not sure if you can seperate the circuits . The bike is built to have the turn signals as stand alone lamps . You could set up the new lamps as running ( tail ) lamps and turn signals , but not as additional brake lamps . Or you could set the new LEDs to act as brake lamps on the low side and turns on the bright side .
I am not sure why you are getting feedback to the other side . Um ,wait its going to the other side via the brake circuit . I am not sure where to put the diode to block this . thinking it would need one on each side to prevent backflow .