Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,424 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Valve clearance inspection is part of the maintenance on the 1800s every 34,000 miles. As I don't have the tools for a proper job, I let my local shop tackle this issue after being assured this is a no brainer.

Since the cam lobes interface with a "bucket & shim" assembly prior to the valve stem, I thought the shop would be my better choice other than me, as I have no experience and tools to do this job, let alone the set of shims, if required.

Dropped the bike off at 0-Dark Hundred (0600) for it to cool off for the 0900 appointment. Valve clearance inspections are done cold. I saw that the work was started and went out for breakfast. I came back and the valve covers were off but noticed the Crank Shaft cover was still on. This cover unscrews allowing the shaft positions to be viewed against a line on the cover plate. A hex bolt allows for a socket wrench to slowly jack the crank over to each designated position for valve clearance inspection with a feeler gauge. Very simple operation, really.

Upon arriving back from a Head Call, I notice no work being done on the bike and the mechanic working on some other job. An hour later, I was informed the bike is finished and ready for pickup.

In paying the bill, I asked for the clearance readings I had requested. None were included and the mechanic did not write the info down, but did say all was OK, to the required spec. (no shimming was required)

Since this maintenance function is only required at 34,000 mile intervals, I had a feeling the job had to be checked..............by me.

Set the bike up on the jack and got the book out.
The next morning I removed the valve covers and crank cover (after chipping hard clay away)
Followed the book's instruction on the valve clearance checking procedure, accepting the loosening of the chain tensioner. (no special tool)