Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,098 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

While riding on Friday we noticed that I had lost both low beams and both driving lights. I've checked the fuse and it is fine.

Any ideas? As you know, I am new to the 1800 so I have no idea where to start other than the fuse. Can't be bulbs - all four at once seems that would be unusual.

·
Premium Member
3,403 Posts
imported post

There are two fuses to check, #14 and #27, you should also check the headlight lo relay.

As you have fog lights you should also check the fog light relay, this can be accessed by removing the left switch panel, the one with the foglight switch on it, you may need to remove the left fairing pocket as well.

I don't know about the headlight lo relay, but I have a jumper which can go in place of the foglight relay so they can only operate with the switch.

Two other things which can affect the lo beams are a faulty starter/reverse switch and a faulty reverse regulator assembly (diode D21).

Obviously I am parroting from the service manual, I have no idea where this diode is but I am working on it!

·
Premium Member
3,403 Posts
imported post

I looked in to diode D21, and the highest number diode listed for the rev reg assy is D16, so this obviously needs further research.

·
Premium Member
2,098 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
imported post

So - If I pop out tomorrow on the bike can ya give me some assistance John? PLEASE - PRETTY PLEASE :(

·
I am the Hobo
9,690 Posts
imported post

Silly as it sounds, it is common on the 1800for more than one bulb to blow simultaneously. Had it happen to me, spent ages looking for a problem, then tried replacing the bulbs and no problem since.

Always try the easiest solution first. :)

·
Premium Member
5,502 Posts
imported post