Steve Saunders Goldwing Forums banner

1 - 20 of 187 Posts

·
Premium Member
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Being only 5' 2" tall I have a need to lower the GL1000 so my feet will touch the ground.

I have been riding since 1963 but have never had a Goldwing because of the height problem.

My plan is to enter the progress of the build day by day as I get it done.

The bike I am using is one of seven I have purchased over the summer.

I first have stripped most of the seven which helped to gain knowledge of the Goldwing construction.

The bike I am lowering is a 1975 which was near a fire and is in bad need of a complete clean-up.

I have added the photos so far to my "zimco" photo gallery, I guess I can only put 1 here per post

This is the frame cutaway on the right side.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
imported post

I notched the frame at the bottom in order to push the new tubing inside and have more area to weld the two lower pieces together.

After sitting and looking at it for a while I decided how I was going to go about changing the rear.

I bent new bars for the right side and made two 2" X 5" plates to bolt to where the old shocks used to be.

After numerous fittings I finally tack welded the right rear together.

After everything is tacked I will remove the engine and strip the frame bare, then weld and plate up the areas that I can't get to now.

I might add that the old gas tank will not be used, a tank will be added top side and the electrics that were under the top covers will go down to the lower area.

Photo is of the lower frame notched out to slide the new frame into the tubing

Attachments

·
Premium Member
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
imported post

I also must state here that I am not a welder, some of the welds may appear to be bubblegum, Once I get the whole project tacked and stripped I will go back and grind, & plate the bad welds.