Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,200 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

When I get home from offshore I'll be doing some work on my GW that will require a jack. Was just wondering what experienced owners are using. Price is an issue of course, but safety and stability are the most important. There are a couple of jacks at the JC Whitney site and I have also done some preliminary internet searching.

Recommendations anyone?

Thanks!

·
Postpubescent member
36,382 Posts
imported post

Take a look at the Harbor Freight Jack, I've been using mine for the past four years on all different models of Goldwing.

Harbor Freight Motorcycle Jack

·
Premium Member
10,276 Posts
imported post

I have the Sears version and works well after about 3 years. Wait until it goes on sale though.

·
Premium Member
92 Posts
imported post

exavid wrote:
Take a look at the Harbor Freight Jack, I've been using mine for the past four years on all different models of Goldwing.

I just bought the same one a couple of weeks ago and love it. Didn't have to wait for the Sears jack to go on sale - which was still higher on sale than the one in the link above.

Larry

·
Premium Member
75 Posts
imported post

I have the Sears jack. It works fine. I got it on sale for about $100.00. Unfortunately, the Sears unit comes from China as well as the HF.:( FWIW the Sears jack comes with two ratchet tie downs.

·
Premium Member
1,424 Posts
imported post

exavid wrote:

I have one that looks just like the HF unit that was purchased from Sears or Walley World. It worked really well for my VTX 1300.

I use it currently for the GL1800 but with some shims under the exhaust manifolds and another jack under the center stand. (More Stupid Stuff)

This is a very poor and unsafe situation that is being corrected starting this week. Not the jack's fault mind you, it just needs a design tune up so to speak.