Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

I started riding street bikes in 1972. After a series of increasingly faster UJM's I got a Harley in 1976. Figured I'd better slow down a bit before I killed myself.

I had always been a hot rod guy and worked on my own stuff but didn't really know anything about Harley's. I was in the Army at the time and one of my Sargents had a beautiful Pan head chopper. He taught me how to adjust the valves, carb, change oil, check primary chain and all the basic maintenance stuff.

As the years progressed I became a pretty good wrench and have built many custom bikes (some for pretty famous folks and some have been in magazines) and still have a chopper now (in addition to the GL1500).

So anyway, back in my early days of riding I could only afford older bikes (HD's) and they always needed a lot of work (not that the new ones didn't back then!). I always carried tools with me and some spare parts (points, plugs, clutch cable, etc).

When I rode with the club I was the "fix it on the side of the road" guy. Most guys could fix their own stuff back then but some couldn't. If you wanted a custom bike you had to build it yourself or with the help of others. There weren't many custom shops around and the dealer network was notorious for being a-holes and not wanting to work on customs. Thinking back, it may had something to do with the kind of guys that rode customs!

Anyway, I was up in Julian this past weekend.it is an old mining town and is a big bike destination. My sister was in town so we did the tourist thing. It's mostly clothing / nick knack shops so I got bored quickly and noticed a guy and girl getting on a newer (2007) Street Glide. He was trying to start it and it would fire but then die. As we walked by I asked the wife if I should offer to help. She said go ahead and they would continue to shop.