Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
imported post

Sure ya'll have been here before, but what kind of MPG's are ya'll getting??

I have been averaging 42-44 since I bought it a few months ago. Is this as good as it gets, or can it be improved?

'03 GL1800 mostly ridin highway, some stop and go traffic, normal acceleration, likes to cruise at about 70 MPH.

·
Premium Member
9,790 Posts
imported post

my 1200 gets 38-42 depending on riding conditions:action:

·
Premium Member
8,524 Posts
imported post

I get a constant 37. But I have more friction to turn.

·
Premium Member
319 Posts
imported post

Average around 40. It depends on how much I twist! Sometimes I really like to do the twist. I ride mostly two up and on trips on two lane, 55 mph roads, I can expect anywhere from 42-45.

·
Forum Diplomat
7,368 Posts
imported post

I've told this story before, but I really like it so's I'm gonna tell it again!

Read this in the book "Boozefighters," America's first patch-wearing MC club......

Backin the early fifties, most ofthe membersrode Indians and Harleys, but one of the early Boozefighters bought himself a Brit import, probably a Triumph. He loved the bike, and bragged about it constantly, especially about the high mileage he was getting. Two of his friends got tired of it, and so they started sneaking out when he wasn't looking and began adding fuel to his tank! They got him up to about 150 miles per gallon doing that! The Brit bike rider was simply beside himself with joy.....

Then, after about a month or so, they snuck back out and started siphoning gas out! The man's mileage slowly buy steadily fell into the high teens, and he practically tore the bike apart trying to find out what was wrong!

For some reason, I find this wholestory hysterical!

:cheeky1::cheeky1::cheeky1::cheeky1::cheeky1::cheeky1:

·
Premium Member
2,848 Posts
imported post

Tex